Aquino declares holidays for 2016


President Benigno Aquino declared 21 special and regular holidays for 2016.

Through Proclamation No. 1105, Aquino declared the following as holidays:

Regular Holidays

  • New Year’s Day 1 January (Friday)
  • Maundy Thursday 24 March
  • Good Friday 25 March
  • Araw ng Kagitingan 9 April (Saturday)
  • Labor Day 1 May (Sunday)
  • Independence Day 12 June (Sunday)
  • National Heroes Day 29 August (Last Monday of August)
  • Bonifacio Day 30 November (Wednesday)
  • Christmas Day 25 December (Sunday)
  • Rizal Day 30 December (Friday)

Special (Non-Working) Days

  • Chinese New Year 8 February (Monday)
  • EDSA People Power Revolution 25 February
  • Black Saturday 26 March
  • Ninoy Aquino Day 21 August (Sunday)
  • All Saints Day 1 November (Tuesday)

Additional special (non-working) days

  • 2 January (Saturday)
  • 31 October (Monday)
  • 24 December (Saturday)
  • 31 December (Saturday)

The declaration of Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha as national holidays will be issued “after the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar (Hijra) or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient,” the proclamation said.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s