7 CCC students bag various regional journalism awards

Seven students of the City College of Calapan (CCC) bagged various awards in the 7th Regional Higher Education Press Conference held in Calapan City.

The city-run CCC placed second in the Individual Category and fifth in the Group Category.

Ten colleges competed for the campus journalism awards during the conference held from January 12 to 15.

Following are the CCC students who bagged awards:

Dean Baja: 1st Place for Opinion Writing-Filipino, 4th Place for Photo Journalism-English, 3rd Place for Copy Reading and Headline Writing-Filipino and 2nd Place for Environmental Writing-Filipino.

Rexell Nieto: 5th Place for Cultural Heritage Writing-Filipino, 5th Place for Copy Reading and Headline Writing-English, 3rd Place for Newswriting-English, 5th Place for Editorial Writing-English, and 3rd Place for Feature Writing-English.

Angelo Dela Torre: 4th Place for Place for Cultural Heritage Writing- English and 4th Place for Sportswriting-English

Bryan Delf Aquino: 4th Place for Literary Graphics-Filipino and 4th Place for Photo Journalism-Filipino

Mary Grace Garcia: 4th Place for Opinion Writing- English and 4th Place for Editorial Writing-Filipino

Darwin Nagales: 4th Place for Editorial Cartooning and 3rd Place for Comic Strip

Joseph Mark Chavez: 2nd Place for Cultural Heritage Writing- Filipino, 5th Place for Newswriting-Filipino and 4th Place for Sportswriting-Filipino

The other colleges and universities that participated in the conference are the Palawan Technological College Inc., Western Philippines University and Palawan State University, all based in Puerto Princesa; Occidental Mindoro State College, Divine Word College of Calapan, Divine Word College San Jose and the three campuses in Calapan, Victoria and Bongabong of the Mindoro State College of Arts and Technology.

The adviser of the CCC delegation, Ms Mary Jane G. Salazar, is also the elected Regional Secretary of the Mimaropa Association of Press Advisers, Inc. (MATPA) and Student Publication Adviser of The Innovators Editorial Board of CCC.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s